Listen to the Leaves

Somewhere in the depths of a Scandinavian winter, Marie at Shimmering Grains has created her second Tree Tuesday post.  I’ve been meaning to photograph some of the trees I know here in Paradise and have resolved to use her challenge to begin.

Trees are one of my passions.  You can imagine how I responded to a place where people give directions based on trees – “at the end of the lane there’s a big tree”, “turn left at the Bodhi Tree”, “the stunted tree” … ;  where a tree in the middle of a new road will often win the right to survival (though these days not perhaps any old tree standing in the way of a new expressway!).

Every significant corner or bend in the road, it seems, has a tree – usually a venerable, shady tree, or a flamboyantly flowering tree – and if I close my eyes I could navigate around the southern half of the country by way of ‘tree’ signposts I’ve grown to know and love.

The most significant tree, by far, is the Sacred Bodhi Tree – Ficus Religiosa (or Peepal, as it’s known in India).  It seems appropriate therefore to start my occasional series by inviting you to come with me, into the shade of a Bodhi tree at any temple.

Come in, don't be shy

Come, don’t be shy – come in and sit on a rock in the shade.

Close your eyes.  Listen.  Do you hear the leaves?

Look up now, into the canopy.  You can see – the leaves are always dancing, no matter how faint the breeze …  reflecting glints of silvery sunshine down to us below.

Look up

Stay a while – enjoy the shade, and listen to the leaves.

 

16 thoughts on “Listen to the Leaves

  1. Absolutely beautiful. I think we have this tree in Jamaica, but trees are (sadly) not sacred here. In fact, right now we are thinking about restrictions on chainsaw ownership! Can you believe it? I must write an ode to our beautiful guango tree which is also large and splendid. When we give directions to our house, we always say “with the big guango tree.” I love it so much, and it has survived several hurricanes!

  2. Thank you for showing me a real Peepal tree: I had a story published some years ago about a quilt which was sewn under a peepal tree. I had never been to Rajastan, never seen such a tree, but I spent days on research!

  3. a magnificent tree … not sure if i have ever seen one, although i have a few leaves from a famous one … so stirring to sit under the silvery leaves with you and listen ,,,

  4. A beautiful tree and your commentary was equally so . That’s one of the worst things about Winter, the lack of leaves and all that goes with them. ((Sigh))

  5. Pingback: PipalFind Me A Cure | Find Me A Cure

Comments are closed.