An Adventure on the Maha Oya

Crossing the bridge, something caught my eye and I quickly found a place to pull over and park.  Yes, I was right – two small boys on the rocks, way out from the river’s banks.  My hope is there was a happy ending to their adventure on the river.

Upstream, a calm stretch of water Adventure on the Maha Oya 9 - Upstream on the Maha Oya

Three faces of the great Mahaweli Ganga as it loops around Kandy

A few weeks ago we followed the river as we travelled the upper reaches of the Kaleniya Ganga Valley – here’s the river, further downstream

Thanks Ailsa for this week’s Travel Theme – Rivers.

15 thoughts on “An Adventure on the Maha Oya

    • They’re wonderful, aren’t they Jo – except when they get angry like that river gushing through the windows and doors of homes in China just now. The Kaleniya routinely overflows into outlying areas of Colombo (mostly populated by the poor, of course) but luckily it’s more an inundation than a raging, destructive flood.

  1. What a fascinating river !! – but it seems to be filling itself up with silt, so that before long it will be a trickle in a wide river-bed. Alas !

    • It’s self-cleansing, MR, like modern glass! When the rains come all the silt will be washed away when the water rises – that is, if it isn’t all collected by the locals to be sold to the sand merchants!

        • I suppose so, in the broad sense of interfering with nature and the delicate balance of the sand bar between the river mouth and the sea, but if you think of the hoo haa harbour dredging elicits here, when they dump all that sand out on the reefs or bays, I think these collectors are doing a service, don’t you? They’ve certainly been doing it for centuries 🙂

  2. Rivers are quite powerful forces. Whether they are calm and slow moving or fast and wild there is a certain energy about the moving water that draws one to it. Little boys and elephants, rivers draw them all.

    • Don’t they just! I wish I could have zoomed in closer to see what it was that was so absorbing to them.

      Nice to have you back, Madhu – though I wish you could have had another couple of weeks (months?) to absorb the magic of Venice. I love how the place has inspired people from its earliest days. Yesterday I saw a picture of a painting by the young Arthur Streeton (an Australian painter) who went to Europe for his honeymoon in 1908 (the year my dad was born) and was, like many of us, enchanted. Looking at it (and others from his “Venice Suite”) I knew a continuity of enchantment that was itself an enchantment.

      I don’t know if this will work but I’ll give it a go – https://thewanderlustgene.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=8776

  3. Pingback: A River in Nepal – Pokhara | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Comments are closed.