“A”, a Letter

Surely one of humankind’s seminal achievements was the invention of uniform symbols to record words and  sounds.  From mundane transactions to all the knowledge in the world – all accessible through symbols and the way letters are arranged to form words.  Do you remember learning to read and write?  Did it thrill you?  I have a couple of childhood memories that thrill me still;  of sitting with Ma, learning to recognise letters as we read together, and the realisation, one day at proper school, that understanding words was like a door to understanding other things.  There was a special thrill in that, like working out how to do Sudoku.

I love words, how they dance through my mind, creating stories, and making ideas tangible.  Regrettably my facility with language is confined to my own.  I do have a knack of intuiting what beginners are trying to convey, when they’re learning English, but as to speaking their languages …   Even after years of studying it at school, French words only become intelligible after I’ve been in France for a while.  Then, like a diviner, I somehow dredge up some of those words I tortured myself repeating and repeating – if I’m lucky, enough to begin a halting conversation.  My efforts at the Dante Alighieri in Venice … well, I did try, really, and sometimes, in my little stone studio just back from the Grand Canal, I would dream in Italian, but other than the shopping (oh, and the night at La Fenice, when an elegant old gentleman doffed his hat to say “Complimenti, Signora.”), I never conducted a live conversation.  I blame the water sprites, they lured me away from my homework, to wander, or sit by a canal, fascinated by the way the winter sun shot crystal sparks off the water.

I’ve always admired Japanese characters, quite unreasonably moved by the beauty of shapes that mean absolutely nothing to me.  My friend’s Koran does likewise, so, as you can imagine, I was  beguiled by the simplest renditions of Sinhala and Tamil script I saw on my first visit to Paradise.

A souvenir piece of Sinhala akuru – just letters repeated, like a child – or me – learning how to write.

My first Sinhala teacher was unable to get anything much to stick – my mnemonic attempts at remembering words with no similarities to anything I’d ever heard simply confused me more!  But then came Michael Meyler, at the British Council, who insisted we learn to read and write.  His theory is that learning the sounds of the letters in their original form (rather than phonetic approximations of  English), would bring the language alive.  And so, reluctantly I began to learn the 36 Sinhala Akuru (12 vowels and 24 consonants) in modern-day usage.

A, a Letter 1

“A” – a letter. This beautiful card is part of a set I have, designed and copyright Michael Meyler and Lynda Gill (www.mirisgala.net)

This post was inspired by “Letters“, this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge.

25 thoughts on ““A”, a Letter

  1. I have enough trouble with languages using the same letters: the thought of trying to assimilate one that employs entirely new characters makes me feel weak !

  2. Another treasure to add to my love of lettering, such rounded shapes, flowing waves and curls, reminding me of seeds and flowers neatly arranged, so very full of life! I love kanji too, especially since we have a huge Japanese scroll in our entry with words of blessing given to us by youngest son’s Japanese family. My skill at languages is very like yours!!

  3. Having traveled to some countries in Southeast Asia and Sri Lanka made me wish we still use indigenous alphabets in Indonesia instead of Latin, even though that won’t be too practical since on the island of Java alone there were more than one sets of indigenous alphabets used by people from different ethnic groups. Of all places in Indonesia, Bali is the one where you can see local alphabets widely used.

  4. So, how did you reply to the gentleman in Venice when he said Complementi, Signora?
    I spent a month in Paris when I was young, and was picking up on French pretty well..got to the airport to leave and when security asked me in French where I was going, I stumbled all over myself (I was so mad at myself for not being able to answer in French when I knew the words!).

  5. A lovely piece of writing with so much feeling 🙂

    One of my greatest fears is waking up one morning monolingual… to me, that would be like being locked into a single room without windows or doors, or with two limbs missing.

  6. Some of the World’s alphabets are more art than anything else. That you were able to learn this one, Meredith, is to me, an incredible achievement.

  7. Great post – images, and to see more words from you. You write beautifully, and I can feel your passion for letters, words and language 🙂

Comments are closed.