Skyscapes

We probably all romance about the carefree days of our youth, when we’d lie back in the grass, gazing out into the infinity of the sky, dreaming, or playing the imagine game with the shapes of drifting clouds.  Storms brought a frisson of excitement, sometimes fear, and one night, veils of light dancing across the sky above Wisconsin seemed to take me with them out to our upper atmosphere.  But I never took pictures of those skies – they were experiences, not things, and their images live on in memory as vividly as the moments I was in them.

The advent of a digital camera in my life changed my attitude toward the recording of skyscapes.  Where once I would have taken only a miserly few shots of the most significant places and things I saw on my travels, I now found myself rushing to the door to try capturing a storm rolling in, or the almost invisible specks of kites flying kilometres up in the watery blue tropical skies above Colombo.  Most of these have been used to illustrate various posts over the last year or so, but there are some I like and since I’ve missed many of Ailsa’s Travel Theme challenges in the last several months, I’d like to post them in response to her Sky theme this week.

PS – Still having difficulties with my banner shot – please imagine vivid pink clouds floating in the appropriate place above this page!

27 thoughts on “Skyscapes

  1. “…their images live on in memory as vividly as the moments I was in them.” –those were forever beautiful memories. Breathtaking sky photos, Meredith.

  2. So many wonderful colors and moods in these great shots Meredith! As for youthful memories of romance I am torn between regretting so many missed moments, envious that so many today are able to snap their moments but . . . . so grateful for the times and moments which unrecorded, will never fade from memory. (Plus, we partied etc etc without having phone cameras stuck in our faces every five minutes!)

  3. Beautiful skyscapes! I so agree that digital cameras have changed our lives – in a good way and also in a bad way… although you don’t have to be miserly with taking your shots, you do end up too many masterpieces!

  4. Lovely shots Meredith. Oddly your Sri Lankan skies look very similar to my Spanish ones. I think I like the Knuckles one best, love the purply hues. I also think I’ve liked other Knuckles photos before because I remember the strange name.

    • For me photography mostly falls short of our memories, and in many instances I think that’s because our memories are small movies, recording nuances of light and shade, imperceptible movement that enlivens an image in the way a painter can sometimes achieve, but far less a photograph. Having said that, there are photographers who can achieve the alchemy of capturing the perfect moment … Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  5. Lovely photographs, indeed! I also find myself taking more photos with a digital camera, quite simply because if they don’t turn out, a simple “delete” clears the clutter. Film developing cost enough to make me careful with the number of photos I took. My husband and I saw the northern lights once in Wisconsin, when we lived in Madison. A few years later, we had an even better view in Illinois. Someday, I would love to see them above the Arctic Circle….

    • My travels have always been on a shoestring, JM So it was always the cost of film and developing that kept me to my budget – every cost over-run deleted from the time I could be on the road!

      The Aurora from the Arctic Circle … Now, wouldn’t that be just completely otherworldly, JM – I’ve got my fingers crossed you’ll make that trip so I can share via your pictures!

  6. Wonderful photos of beautiful skies, Meredith. I, too, remember all too well the per-digital age and wonder how many beautiful shots weren’t taken because of the subsequent developing costs. Digital photography has given novices like myself the opportunity to experiment and hopefully improve without taking out a loan to do so. 🙂

  7. thank goodness for the digital camera, love your skies, and the idea of you remembering long ago vistas, what is it about those vivid moments that means they stay with us more strongly than ordinary life does?

  8. Wonderful sky shots! My husband loved to take them, and particularly in B&W. But then, it was his favourite of the two. I wish I were still a traveller; but without him, no point. I shall live vicariously through you! 🙂

Comments are closed.