Balancing on a Stone

I’m so looking forward to settling down (eight boxes to go!) so I can write a couple of decent posts about some of the extraordinary things I saw on my farewell trips from Paradise.

Prompted by Ailsa’s Stone challenge I couldn’t resist posting a teaser of one of the  ambalamas* I discovered on my last trip – this is Karahagagedera, toward Kuliyapitiya.

Balancing on a Stone*  Ambalamas – travellers’ rests –  dotted the major routes around the ancient Kandyan kingdom.

37 thoughts on “Balancing on a Stone

    • Unpacking has slowed down a lot lately, Pommie – it’s taking so long to find space for these last things. Quarantine seems to have confiscated a few things, most notably the head of my vacuum cleaner! Luckily Dyson is sending me another and I’m smiling at myself when I wonder with anticipation whether today is the day it will arrive so I can vacuum at last. Vacuuming isn’t usually something I look forward to so much! 🙂

      Yes, after my computer glitches, I’ve begun posting on Another Paradise again too.

  1. We have been doing a bit of backyard clearing at the moment and the Man and I have been contemplating some sort of seating arrangement up on the hill for us to survey our small kingdom in comfort. I will be showing him this picture as it is exactly what we need! It is unlikely to be constructed of course, but I can dream. 🙂

  2. What a great shot, Meredith. We tend to think of support foundations in terms of cement and brick. The wooden base of this ambalamas would probably rot pretty quickly if laid on the often wet earth. Absent mortar and brick, why not rock? It obviously worked. That ambalamas looks like it’s been there for a while.

    • Yes – very organic! I went crazy for them and hope to do them justice in a little booklet – or at least a decent post – once I’ve actually settled back into life in this bright country of ours! Strange, isn’t it – if someone were to ask me to immediately say what was different about my two ‘homes’ I’d first comment on the brightness of the light. I always seem to be squinting! 🙂

  3. Reminds me of a temple chariot somehow! it is wonderful that these traditional structures are still part of the community. We must have had similar shelters, but none exist that I know of. Pity

    • Ah – yes, I can see that, Madhu! I’m really looking forward to getting down and doing some in-depth research on them because they’re extraordinarily ‘romantic’, I feel, and tied to the history of the mountainous and heavily forested old Kandyan kingdom – from whence – after the arrival of the European conquerers, it was extremely difficult to depart.

  4. I’m very much looking forward to hearing more. This is a remarkable pit stop. It looks so solid yet somehow I think I would be tentative. When will I start hearing about the new location? (No pressure)

    • It’s remarkable there are still so many of these rest stops still standing – and all kept clean and in one way or another part of their communities. I found a dozen or so of them on my final farewell trip and would really like to write a serious piece about them – history, architecture, etc. I’m going down to Melbourne for a couple of weeks in December to babysit some friends’ cats (!) and I might be able to start researching the piece then.

      As for Oz – I started a new blog for Oz, though I haven’t lived up to the ideal of posting a photo a day – still unpacking and trying to settle in. http://www.anotherparadisefortwlg.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.