A Face in the Crowd

Caught in traffic on the way to Kitulgala (back on my first Farewell Trip) I was struck by the posture and bearing of one of the women walking away from a temple.

A Face in the Crowd 1As we inched forward, I saw her a couple more timesA Face in the Crowd 4

A while later, there she was again, walking behind a lion

A Face in the Crowd 3

Luckily, after we’d eventually passed the Perahera, the driver was able to pull over so I could get out to take pictures front-on.   I had a sweaty but terrific time working my way back along the procession, shooting the lively scenes close-up.  Toward the end, there she was again, and she smilingly posed for me then, standing beside the lion.  I think she must have been the school teacher – the tidy way she was dressed, and the way the women and children related to her.  I thought she had a lovely face – enlivened by an ever-present smile and a calm and loving spirit that seemed to reach out to me.

A Face in the Crowd 5

I’m supposed to be lodging some papers about my pension but before I leave I can’t resist making this quick post, inspired by the Sunday Chronicle challenge, I saw when I was catching up on Angeline’s blog.

24 thoughts on “A Face in the Crowd

    • She seemed to radiate a warmth that drew my camera in her direction – the great luck was that it captured that over the shoulder moment! I was thrilled I’d managed to capture her smile, Alessandro. Thanks for dropping by – I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve been up to. 🙂

    • It’s good to be (almost) back, Madhu. I’m getting mighty bored with this unpacking/cleaning/trying to find space cycle and am looking forward to having the time to explore yours and my other favourite blogs. 🙂

  1. hanno un portamento regale certe donne asiatiche, si dice sia dovuto dal portare ceste in equilibrio sulla testa
    molto piacevole l’incontro con il vostro blog
    grazie

    have a regal bearing certain Asian women is said to be owed by bring baskets balanced on their heads
    very pleasant meeting with your blog

  2. Lovely that the women were happy to engage with you and the camera. I love their long plaits and open faces. They look so tidy and elegant, and happy to be themselves. A good example for us 🙂

Comments are closed.