A Passing Squall, or the Harbinger of a Major Storm?

Taking heart from several days of intermittent sunshine and almost no rain, I decided the other night to take a long-delayed trip up to Negombo to putter around the old Dutch canals.

Thinking to make a day of it, to leave the city behind and re-acquaint myself with that laid back, unspoiled Sri Lanka I so adore, I plotted a course along the “old” road that runs between the ocean and the lagoon, meandering along at a ‘village’ tempo unthinkable except in the deep countryside – though here we were, less than 10 minutes from the city and barely a car to be seen.

You can imagine then, that I arrived in the bustling little town very relaxed and in the mood to give myself another treat:   a Caesar Salad and a glass of cold white wine beside the seaside, I thought, would make the perfect lunch prelude to my boat ride.  The wind was up – a sort of lunchtime “Fremantle Doctor“, very welcome really, like natural air-conditioning.

After my meal I wandered out onto the beach to take a few shots of the wide expanse of sand and the lone boat marooned there, when a shadow seemed to pass overhead.  I turned back toward the hotel:

Harbinger 1 Excitement (I always love a storm!) was followed by a moment’s consternation:  was this just a passing squall, or the harbinger of a major storm to come? I invariably look on the sunny side (sorry!) so had no qualms accepting the boatman’s assurances, and set out for a few hours in a little open boat.

He was right, of course – we even had occasional shafts of golden sunshine, and it wasn’t until we got back toward town that the overall sky began to glower a bit more menacingly. Harbinger 2 That night, when I got back to Colombo, I wasn’t surprised to receive message alerts:

3.8.2013 15.04 (I’d had my phone turned off!): “Severe weather advisory;  sea areas from Puttalam to Potuvil, via Colombo and Galle will be rough and dangerous in the next 48 hours with strong winds up to 60-80 kilometres per hour.”

The following day: “Heavy showers (more than 100mm may occur on the Western slopes of the central hills.”

Here in Colombo we had a chilly weekend with lots of rain, and anecdotal reports from Nuwara Eliya exclaim “it’s  raining cats and dogs” …  Seems I was in luck!

Foreshadow – this week’s WP Photo Challenge.

17 thoughts on “A Passing Squall, or the Harbinger of a Major Storm?

  1. Isn’t is delicious sometimes to leave the phone off? I feel daring and adventurous when I do this now. A bit naughty….nobody can reach me……I’m free; let the unknown have its way with me.

    • I’d do it more often, Angeline, except that some people who will remain nameless take exception to it! I don’t want to be ‘wired in’ all the time, especially when I’m on an adventure! I know exactly what you mean by feeling free when you do turn the extraordinary little machine off! And yes, a bit daring carefree 🙂

  2. I love being outdoors when a storm approaches. Being on a beach is even better. Sounds like you had a day that I would have really enjoyed. 🙂

  3. It’s the most divine form of gambling… will I beat the weather or will it beat me and give me a drenching… many times I’ve been at the far end of a beach with no shelter and lost that bet, and won, walking in the rain is lovely… to a point 🙂

  4. & I’ll bet it added to the trip, ot the delight – not forgetting delight had the opposite meaning of the way we use it and was used more in conjunction with the sublime, which you might’ve been approaching except for those shafts of sunlight 🙂

Comments are closed.