I’m no Picasso

I’m back on the air (fingers crossed!) and way behind!  I hope you’ve all had a splendid week?

Sonel’s Black and White challenge last week called for abstractions.  I’m no Picasso, but I do favour viewing the world with one crooked eye, and though I had no internet connection for much of the last week, that didn’t stop me playing with some of my more experimental photographs of Venice (and by extension, water), and elephants and a couple of flowers – to see whether I could muster some images that “denoted an idea, quality, or state rather than a concrete object”.

It was fascinating –  thrilling, really – to see the metamorphosis of an idea by simply  converting a photograph into black and white and then subjecting it to a little judicious cropping.  When I converted and cropped this shot, for instance, what had been a disappointing (failed) experiment suddenly turned into the quintessence of my memories of Venice:

Sunlight Under Bridge

They say that photography is all about light and shadow – I’d add that the creation of photographic abstractions is doubly so – that, and exaggerated magnification, sometimes, or wilful cropping.

I had so much fun I thought I’d add a gallery:

Consider these flowers – manipulated to an exaggerated degree – and thus also fulfilling (last) Sunday’s Stills “Photoshopped” challenge:

23 thoughts on “I’m no Picasso

  1. Wow! Picasso doesn’t stand a chance against you for sure! Great shots and entry for the challenge hon! I just love it! 😀 *big hugs*

  2. These are fabulous! Viscuous water and Elephants eye in particular. Are you sure you aren’t related to Picasso somehow??? 🙂

  3. Your gallery for Sonels challenge are great. I know what you mean about being behind. Even being out of school, I can’t catch up!
    Always enjoy looking at your photographs.

  4. Wonderful. Essence of Venice 🙂 I keep all my pics, because you never know when they, or part will come in handy and now with the photo editing software there are so many tools.

  5. Oh my goodness, I can imagine just how beautiful these are in colour, but keeping it monochrome really intensifies the light and shadow! Very humble of you to phrase the title that way, Meredith – what a visual treat!

Comments are closed.