A Storm’s Coming!

I wish I had the discipline to shoot in black and white – at least for a time.   However, since I don’t, and I did want to support Sonel’s new Black and White Challenge (Week 1:  Nature), a move from the lush exuberance of the tropics seemed to be in order.  And then I remembered the photos I took of a storm roaring toward the Noosa River (on the Sunshine Coast, back in Oz), the day I bought my first digital camera.  They might translate into monotone, I thought.  See what you think.

38 thoughts on “A Storm’s Coming!

    • It’s interesting – badly damaged images respond well to a black and white or sepia ‘special effects’ treatment! I’d not thought of desaturating, but I suppose I’ve done that by choosing a very simple colour pallet to convert to monotone. Glad of your approval, Tom 🙂

    • You’re right – but the trick as I’m just learning now, is in the contrasts! When those greenish clouds roll in, with no contrast, the eerie light doesn’t translate, though I suspect if you were shooting in black and white film much of it would. Are you back in Kerala? We’re having terrific storms here – wind warnings all around the island again today.

  1. They certainly work well. I’m like you — never consider shooting in b/w — though have seen the advantages of doing so.

  2. I love what you did with the photo’s WG! They are stunning indeed! Great contrasts with the storm clouds coming in and on the last one you can even see a bird trying to get away from it. I love it and thanks so much for participating. You are a great sport indeed! 😀 *hugs*

  3. I think a storm is perfectly suited for B&W. If you’re trying to portray ominous skies, the last thing needed is a blue patch of sky, no matter how small. The gray skies and water, the occasional white cap, all really set the tone.

  4. I think they work perfectly well. Perhaps no. 3 would look better with a bit more contrast, but I still like it as much as 2 and 4. The header image is my favourite though.

  5. I’ve forgotten what real storms are like since I moved away from Queensland. Are you a Queenslander?

    • Ah, yes, Queensland storms! I’m a Queenslander by adoption, I suppose you’d say – my mother was a Queenslander (who, after half a lifetime away, returned), and I lived there with them for the last ten years of their lives and will return there in a few weeks … 🙂

      • I’ve not yet been half a lifetime away, but when I have, I might return. But not to Brisbane – it’s bigger than Texas these days. I wish you a sweet homecoming!

        • Brissy was always a foreign town to me and yes, these days it’s a place to get lost in – though I did enjoy popping down (from the Sunshine Coast) to go to the theatre or to see friends. Mum always intended to return and in fact made it a condition of her consent to marry Dad – when they retired they had to go back to Qld, she said, and they did!

  6. I suspect most of use see b/w as nostalgic. Do you remember when the Sunday Times bought out a Colour Magazine! It was so exciting and from then on b/w was associated with serious stuff. A storm is serious, b/w adding to its menace. I think it works.
    Wonder what a bowl of strawberries would look like in b/w?

    • I agree with you about monotone adding, or heightening drama, but you might be surprised about the strawberries. I enjoyed the effect of coloured lights in black and white, and have simply adored the effects I’ve been achieving with monotone on flowers. Give it a go and see what happens … the textures of the strawberries will be very interesting to see. I don’t have access to strawberries here (well I do, but they’re soooooo expensive and soooooo hard and sour I can’t possibly justify buying a punnet for our experiment!) , but if you’re in summer time I’ll be most interested to see the results 🙂

Comments are closed.