Liquid Air and Other Elements

I thought I’d assemble a suite of the four elements from Sri Lanka (surprise, surprise!), beginning with my favourite, fire – a fire basket from the perahera:

Elements - Fire

Being an old farmer’s girl, and a gardener,  I can think of nothing more beautiful – if literal – for earth than a patch of the red earth of the north:

Elements - Earth, the red earth of the north

Almost liquid, this air, wild and frenzied as the storm hits, when the velocity of the wind just outstrips the oncoming rain, and the temperature plummets

DSCN0454 - Version 2

and lastly – the balm, the healer – the touch of magic:  water

Elements Water

The Four Elements, Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week.

20 thoughts on “Liquid Air and Other Elements

  1. Superbly illustrates “Nature that framed us of four elements, warring within our breasts for regiment, doth teach us all to have aspiring minds.” by Niccolo Machiavelli

  2. What I find most fascinating about these challenges is the wide variety in replies. yours here is probably the most inventive I’ve seen for this challenge, to say nothing of just how special the photos are. This was a beautiful post.

  3. I really like the water image… but I absolutely agree with the title of the post… the liquid air with its abstract-art feel most definitely steals the show!

  4. Pingback: Through the Window … the Clouds and the Stars of the Perahera | The Wanderlust Gene

Comments are closed.