Apropos of Patterns …

Apropos of patterns, I want to show you the ultimate in biodegradable recycling – palmyra fences and kadjan modesty screens.

From the rather scraggly dead branches of the bristly palmyra palm

DSCN9409 - Version 2

come fences of character and finess that are so characteristic of northern Sri Lanka that even I – who had only seen them once before (on a trip to Batticaloa during a lull in the war some years ago) felt an immediate pang of nostalgia when we first sighted one on our recent trip to Jaffna.

Shaggy, or clipped with military precision, a palmyra fence is a perfect marriage of form and functionality, beautiful in its simplicity and recurring, fan-like patterns.

Clipped with military precision

Weathered and battered by sun and storm – humus in the making

DSCN9678 - Version 2

the branch uprights eventually become ridged tapers – like a collection of tribal spears

DSCN9688– the perfect place for a resting dragonfly.

My second post in response to this week’s WP Photo Challenge

20 thoughts on “Apropos of Patterns …

  1. I like your post for the photo challenge: pattern. I work for an organization that supports green sustainable urban industry development. Those fences demonstrate being green at the grassroots (or should I say palm fronds) level. Excellent!

  2. Beautiful shot of the dragonfly. The screens are a perfect example of needs must and using what’s to hand, ongoing, makes so much more sense than ugy colourbond fences… which I detest. If only…

  3. Take the fronds for your fence and you can come back for more as you need them. Chop down the tree for wood for a fence and it’s a one time deal. Smart use of resources.

  4. What an inventive gallery illustrating excellent use of what you are surrounded with, created and recreated and captured by you. Unique!

  5. Another terrific gallery Meredith!
    These images remind me of home, although the coconut palm frond is favoured for fences and screens in our villages.

    • These palmyra are typical of the north – i think they’re salt and drought tolerant and seem to cope with a wide range of soil types too. In the southern half of the country, of course, all we see are the coconut fronds.

  6. I am delighted to see the palm fronds being used in this way. Palms are my favorite trees. I have more photographs of my palm fronds than I have of my grandson! Living, they play with light like no other leaf. Now, I see that they are used so beautifully after they die too! I love this post, Meredith. 🙂

    • Now, why am i not surprised!?! With that magnificent background shot for your blog, I know you love palms, and capturing them with your camera. It’s fantastic to see every stage and part of them being used productively – and especially here, with the Palmyra, so beautifully too. While you were away I had the luck to stumble on sunshine streaming through a young fan palm in a temple – you’ll enjoy this: https://thewanderlustgene.wordpress.com/2013/03/17/sunshine-through-a-fan-palm/

      • OH, I loved those fans! They are like my fans except these have smaller stalks and notched leaf ends. They are wonderful. I have to find out if we have them here. I am happy that you showed them to me. I downloaded a few to play with since I absolutely cannot resist playing with fans!! 🙂 I am chuckling because I know I am the only person who loved the images that much! thanks again!

  7. Poeple in o many places in the world are recycling resources cleverly, like banana, palmyra, straws, bamboo… leaves, but we have to go to Lowes or Home Depot 😕
    Great post, Meredith!

Comments are closed.