Sunshine through a Fan Palm

A little supplemental green – some shots I took last weekend.  One of my neighbourhood discoveries was a temple hidden on a headland in the Diyawanna Lake where I watched the sun shining through the leaves of a fan palm:

Mo and I leave on an adventure to Vavuniya and Jaffna on Tuesday morning – five o’clock on Tuesday morning!  We’re heading into the unknown – vis-a-vis technology, hotels, and services – so don’t panic if I go quiet – I’ll be back next Sunday, full of stories and photographs of virgin scrub jungle, of clearing a path to a tree that hangs over a river …  and of Jaffna, emerging from 30 years of war.

Have a great week 🙂

19 thoughts on “Sunshine through a Fan Palm

  1. How exciting! Can’t wait to read all about it.
    We have been having a spate of anti Sri Lanka protests, a ‘bandh’ even! All politically motivated of course, with elections looming.

  2. super shots, the folded structure of the fan palm is fascinating .. have a wonderful adventure this week meredith, we look forward to seeing the photos soon!

  3. What? You’re going off the grid? How will I get my green fix? I know. I’ll head to the Lincoln Park Conservatory and walk among their palms. Whew. That was close.
    Have a wonderful time!

Comments are closed.