The Tree – My Tree

I met a tree when I was at Samadhi last week.  Standing alone just off the crown of the hillside opposite, it was the first thing I saw in the morning, imagined as I went to bed at night.  I’m sure my tree has become the tree of many people who’ve visited over the years, but that doesn’t alter the way I feel about this tree, so it’s  also my tree!

I thought it fitting to show you the several faces of my tree on Marie’s Tree Tuesday.

I’m sorry I can’t show you pictures of it bathed in light, periwinkle skies above, grass brilliant in the sunshine, you’ll just have to imagine that!   Click on any thumbnail to activate the gallery of shots I made after we broke silence.

After this flurry of posts, now that The Girls have been settled, I must settle down myself and get organised.  This week I’ve got to photograph and decide on the price I should ask for everything I need to sell and get the lists published on the expat sites for viewing over the weekend.  Please forgive me if my attendance on your blogs becomes even more sporadic than usual 🙂

Related Posts:
To Be Of This Perfection
The Mountain Road
A Hillside in Paradise
Lost in the Monkey Puzzle Tree

34 thoughts on “The Tree – My Tree

    • Seeing it backlit by the reflection of the sunset was a real thrill Lynne – especially that extra night I was there, with the clouds building up for the rain that was to come several hours later!

    • It’s very dramatic, isn’t it? The Sinhalese call the Knuckles Ranges the equivalent of the Misty Mountains, so you can imagine that the tree will often appear and disappear behind the clouds.

  1. Trees always give me a sense of peace. Whenever I need an inspiration or frustrated of something, all I need to do is to look out the window and see the trees. Sadly in a city like Jakarta the urban sprawl often takes its toll on the trees.

    • I know what you mean! Luckily the Sri Lankans will do a lot of avoid cutting down a tree, so we have lots of fantastic old trees to spread their shade and peace around us in most parts of the city. There’s one place I remember (I should go and take a photo of it, if it’s still there) where the tree was left in place and the new road was forced to go around each side of it!).

  2. I laughed when I read “I met a tree”… Your’s is a handsome tree, and has seen a thing or hundred, I imgaine. I’ve met a few trees whose presence is a comforting as a animated being, and one who led me to buy a block of land and settle there quite happily for a time. Before I left, I wished it goodbye.

  3. With that shape and in that spot, I’m sure you’re but one of a number who’ve adopted that tree. You’ve some wonderful photos with which to remember it.

  4. The photographs are wonderful especially those where Marie’s Tree is covered by an ethereal mist. If it represents the people you’ve had visit over the years then there’s scope for more new growth.

  5. it is almost as if the tree was giving you a slideshow …. so many colours, moods, glimpses … and a swirly inviting shape to draw the viewer out of of any preoccupation … seems to be saying “come fly with me … come up on the hill and we will glide together into the kaleidoscope of life”

  6. From you lens, the tree is so graciously standing on the hill, yet dignified.
    Glad to hear that things are moving smoothly for you 🙂

  7. A lovely tree to see first thing each morning. Best wishes for the organizing and packing. Moving is always exhausting, and I hope you’ll have no glitches or unwanted surprises.

  8. I love your tree because I am a tree lover. Trees have away to embed themseleves in memory That tree will be with you always. I sitll remember special trees that I loved in Arlington and Annandale, near Washington D.C., in in the 1970s. Thanks for coming to visit my blog!

  9. Pingback: The Door to Number 10 | The Wanderlust Gene

Comments are closed.