All That Rock

My form-fitting cherry red ski suit was not designed to carry a camera.  Bought in Australia, for Australian conditions, it barely accommodated the extra layers necessary for the sunny side of the mountain once I hit the ski slopes of Austria.  It’s a shame, but there it is – no snowy mountain pictures in the The Wanderlust Gene’s archives.

But as Ailsa points out when setting this week’s challenge, the definition of ‘mountain‘ – in English, at least – is more subjective than prescriptive.

My relationship with mountains began around the age of four, sitting on Papa’s knees (so as to see through the steering wheel)  as I urged him to fly over the mountain created by a rather steep little bridge on the road to Hanwood.  Yes – the countryside where I grew up was as flat as a billiard table and the adrenaline rush I felt in the pit of my tummy as we took off across that bridge was a secret thrill we shared when it was just the two of us going to (but not coming back from) the post office.

Later, seeing Mount Bingar in the distance on the way to Yenda, I recognised that our culvert crossing perhaps didn’t make the grade.  But what about this, was this a mountain?  And like trying to define ‘city‘,  identifying mountains became a game we played for years culminating in a trip to Mount Kosciuszko (7,310 feet), Australia’s highest mountain, some years later.   I at last had a better idea of scale.

I was blown away by the the mountains I met in Switzerland – iconic, snow-capped peaks enlivening every horizon, it seemed.  But what I loved, it turns out (other than flying down a snowy mountainside) is the geology – how they were made and shaped.  All that rock.

So, in response to Ailsa’s Travel Theme Mountains – a few monotone images of rocky mountains.

Click on any image to activate the gallery.

24 thoughts on “All That Rock

    • Lucky for me one of my dearest, and oldest friends, is a Swiss, and so I get to go to the mountains when we meet. Yes – you’ve a rocky headland and those wonderful foothill mountains close by, don’t you?

      • i do meredith, and this afternoon while swimming in a divine rock pool i thought i should photograph the rock pools, the rocks, so maybe this week or even tomorrow …. while the sea is calm …

  1. Fooled again, Meredith. I thought this was your entry for Cee’s Black and White challenge. Don’t they look awesome in black and white? The grandeur is so vivid. As usual you made me smile, as I rememberd going over “the Greatham bump” on the bus- a similar experience.

  2. My cildren used to love to make me go very fast over a hump-backed bridge, so that we took off but came down with rather a bump in my old banger of a car. We all love mountains now.

  3. Marvelous mountains Meredith 😀
    Love the first Pilatus shot! I think the monotone works especially well with this gallery. Makes me want to try my hand at B&W.

  4. Really beautiful shots! Living here, on the edge of The Great Plains, mountains are far beyond the horizon. I don’t see them nearly enough for them to lose the sense of wonder I feel whenever I approach them, whether on ground or in the air — or when I view these pictures. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Come on in and sit right down and make yourself at home | elladee_words

  6. must be mountain week – I’ve seen a few mountain blogs this week! Not sure any of Australia’s mountains really make the grade, love them though I do.

Comments are closed.