Simplicity

Thanks to Jake’s Sunday Post – Simplicity – for the inspiration.

46 thoughts on “Simplicity

    • Sorry, Gilly – I should have added a link because it’s a Sinhalese word (from the Sanskrit), so how were you to know! It’s a solid, bell-shaped shrine containing relics of the Buddha or a Buddhist saint – or, these days, an emblem representing the Buddha. Having said that they’re solid, I have seen a modern dagoba with a hollow ‘bell’ meditation hall.

      The first dagoba here was built in the 3rd century BC in Anuradhapura – made from fired bricks, it stands still and is the basic shape all later constructions followed, with only minor embellishments. Basically, it’s the essence of simplicity because of course the Buddha is said to have instructed his followers to build nothing to commemorate him, let alone a huge steepled dome reaching 2-300 feet in the air!

      A while back I posted a photograph of the two small dagobas at Mihintale – https://thewanderlustgene.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/a-pearl-floating-in-azure-seas/ – if you’d like to have a look 🙂

  1. I think there justmight have been a slight spellingmistake and the word should poss. read “pagoda”? = A pagoda is the general term in the English language for a tiered tower, built in the traditions originating in historic East Asia or with respect to those traditions, …

    • Bulldog, you made me go back to remind myself which images I eventually chose and it’s interesting how often the images are from Sri Lanka – I’m wondering whether it has something to do with (Theravada) Buddhism, or poverty … ? Either way, it’s something I find visually pleasing, even though I can rarely achieve it myself! 🙂

    • I know the temple – like all Greek temples – used to be covered in stucco and painted riotous colours – but i just lurve the simplicity of those bare stone columns – they were the first things I fell deeply in love with when I began travelling!

    • I know what you mean, Angeline – though I’m not sure if I could ever decide which bucket of lotus buds I should frame (I don’t seem to be able to pass a bucket of lotus buds without taking a photograph of it)! Certainly, to me, they are the essence of simple 🙂

  2. Artless Simplicity, the first shot and a summation of the entire post 🙂 Simplicity, so valuable and so obvious if you know how to see, or be but otherwise… elusive, invisible.

    • It can be, can’t it – like the simplicity of sunlight dappling water, or here, the sunlight making patterns on the adobe wall? Then on the other hand, in modern architecture, or those uber-cool women whose dress-sense is as dry as a martini, the simplicity screams to be noticed.

    • My dear John, how kind you are! I have a lot of fun compiling my little ‘exhibitions’, and it’s marvellous to share pictures of places I’ve enjoyed over the years. Thank you for your support and kind words. 🙂

  3. Pingback: SUNDAY POST :Simplicity | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Comments are closed.