Held Together by Wire and a Prayer

Cee’s Metal Foto Challenge this week is just what I needed to showcase a few shots from my Christmas Day photo shoot.

From the beauty of the lock plate on the massive front doors of the Dutch Reformed Church in Pettah (circa 1749)

Dutch Lock, Frontplate

to the melted cover of Gunaratne’s tuk tuk motor – held together by wire and a prayer – they don’t fit neatly into posts of their own.  Gathered together as a gallery with a few other metal objects that have caught my eye recently, I hope they will have sufficient gravitas to warrant a post, because I just love the details.

38 thoughts on “Held Together by Wire and a Prayer

  1. such a mixture of beauty and fascination, but my favourite is the cover on the tuk tuk, a very absorbing photo … you must have had fun on that christmas trip trough the deserted streets!

  2. Pingback: Is This the Most Recognised Stretch of Water in the World? | The Wanderlust Gene

  3. What a marvelous selection for the challenge.
    I am amazed that Gunaratne’s tuk tuk manages to run with that motor! The gorgeous lock is indeed the star of the show 🙂

    • It was such a marvellous day – filled with serendipitous finds like the lock, and Gunaratne’s engine cover (!) … and then the opportunity to show some of them off so quickly was like doing it all over again 🙂

Comments are closed.