A Vision of Paradise

In a recent post I admitted I wasn’t partial to a certain shade of green (what Pantone describes as UP Forest Green, in fact), but that perhaps my favourite colour is the green of new paddy – not because I like to wear it, or paint my walls with it, but because it seems to embody abundance and fecundity.

Today the WP Photo Challenge calls for a Green Gallery.  Now this is serendipitous, because all that soul-searching to discover my favourite colour has led me to understand it’s the green of my island paradise which is at the core of my attachment to it.  When I visualise Sri Lanka, it is green – just as, on the other hand, when I visualise my own land, it is a wide and ‘sunburnt country’, ochre tinged and deeply dramatic.

I thought I might show you some of the greens of Sri Lanka, but there was such a plethora of shades I’ve had to revise my thesis somewhat.  The faint at heart among you might still need  to view this in a double dose, or opt out completely, because I couldn’t cull the greens in my life to fewer than twenty-four.

Geoffrey Bawa, in designing his own home environment, proposed that nature needed very little embellishment to create the most harmonious of gardens.  This is where we’ll begin our exploration of green – on the terrace at “Lunu Ganga”, overlooking what is, to me the most delightful farm-park-garden – akin to the Mughal’s vision of Paradise.  Come, lets look at cultivated greens …

Oh, and just one last green thing – a little piece of wickedness I can’t illustrate.  Our aged Biology teacher is famously reported to have declared “Just because frogs are green doesn’t mean they carry out photosynthesis.”.

Get the to other Green Galleries here.

67 thoughts on “A Vision of Paradise

  1. Very nice gallery. I am afraid I didn’t have the patience to do more than half a dozen (and another half a dozen later etc).

    Love the way you put that together, is that down to software, as I don’t think 2011 does that does it?

  2. Well I love all your shades of green and I think you have just about covered them all…. another few words of wisdom for your aged Biology teacher… not all frogs turn into princes whence kissed.. but apparently some give a wonderful high when licked…

  3. Wow. You learn something new every day: frogs don’t do photosynthesis? ; )

    I love the many shades of green. Everything here is wild with fall color; our trees looked like they weren’t going to be very spectacular this year, but at the last minute, they broke out into bright reds and oranges and yellows. Gorgeous. In about a month, though, I’ll be longing for the tropical greens again.

  4. Wonderful green gallery,TWLG! Love the green veggies you included. I don’t know how to cook the bitter squash, but have taste it once, it was a delicious dish.

    • The trick is to slice it very thinly,l salt it (like aubergine), then fry it. It’s then salty, sour, bitter and crispy – just marvellous to add to a cocktail of other vegetables as a malung – gorgeous 🙂

  5. Pingback: Illustrated ‘Bolivian-style’ adapted cooking: Green Bean Casserole! « 3rdculturechildren

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green Gallery | Humbled Pie

  7. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Green « The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green | newsofthetimes

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green (Fields of Summer) « What's (in) the picture?

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green (Ireland) « What's (in) the picture?

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green « Rebecca Barray

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Green (England) « What's (in) the picture?

  13. Such a contrast to our fall colors just now! By us, many of the trees are still golden and red. But as we drove to a shopping mall today in “the mountains,” we could see most of the trees at the higher elevations were bare. “Mountains” is in quotes because the tallest one here is all of 1,020 m in height. 😉

    • Hey, JM – I grew up on a vast and featureless plain, where any hillock was called Mount So and So 🙂 if the sun’s still out, this is a weird time of year, I remember … an increasingly monotone world, capped by this otherworldly blue. 🙂

  14. Aside from the ‘greenery’ you have here, I love the way you describe them. Your choice of words is outstanding, your adjectives remarkable 🙂 I enjoyed this …

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge:Green (Nepal) « What's (in) the picture?

  16. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE – GREEN « Dear Bliary

  17. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: GREEN « Words We Women Write

  18. What a marveloius collection of greens! You have even got a green Tuk Tuk conveniently parked under that large shady tree 🙂 The pot in that gorgeous first shot gives it a special touch and I love the blending of textures in the Rockpool meadow. And how can I not like the eco-friendly disposable ‘plate’ that is an ubiquitous part of any traditional celebration here. Was curious about the accompaniments to the Kiribath.

    • I favour lunu mirris – a symbol of onion, dried chilli, salt, lime and pulverised dry fish. with sometimes the addition of a few shavings of palm sugar with the last mouthful or two. Most people, however, seem to prefer a protein curry (with lashings of gravy) – and I admit that’s scrumptious, but I love lunu mirris and am not mad keen on protein curry for breakfast!

  19. ONE OF THE BEST GREEN BLOGS! The fern looks like what is called a Princess Pine here in PA. The grow through a vast tubular root system.Is this related ? It’s a wonderful clarity you have.

Comments are closed.