Guess what? There’s a new baby in the Hanuman Tribe!

Since the old tree was cut down, the monkeys’ routine has been haphazard and unpredictable.  What has been noticeable, since they have nowhere here to meet en famille, so to speak, is that they’re checking out trees and perches where I’ve never seen them before.   One fellow came to sat on the wall, just outside my window, the other day, and I’ve seen small groups hanging out in the branches of the cinnamon tree, above my garage.

Of Papa, the only sign I have of his existence is his booming challenges, and the sound of his crash landings in the trees behind me.  I’ve not seen young Hanuman and his mother for a while.  Every now and again I have been glimpsing a mother with a baby – smaller even than Hanuman was when I first met him, but I couldn’t be sure.   Until yesterday.

Mum’s very shy, and very much of the ‘if I don’t look at you, you can’t see me’ school of thought – something she’s not yet taught her bub.  Here, have a look.  I managed to get off a couple of shots before she did a two-step dematerialization from the branches of the custard apple, to under the branches of the custard apple, to across the roof and far away.

58 thoughts on “Guess what? There’s a new baby in the Hanuman Tribe!

    • Urban wildlife, Ella! No tracking through the jungle for me, just holed out on the first floor of my house, lurking behind narrow windows – or trying to look like a door post! But this lot are few but fabulous, aren’t they? So thrilled you enjoyed them:)

    • It was amazing, then I wondered whether he could see so far yet. Mother certainly did whatever she could to avoideye contact. These are the clearest shots I’ve made to date and its wonderful to see their faces so well.

  1. What’s serendipitous is that you don’t have to travel far to enjoy wildlife,even if it requires you to look like a doorpost. Just look at those eyes. Great photo experience.

    • It is absolutely magical, Lynne. The monkeys, the flowers in the garden – and that’s before I even leave the house!

      I was so thrilled with these shots – having my good camera back, and she sat so still, if only for a short time.

  2. what a fabulous show you have captured to share with us, how exciting to see the new baby 🙂 glad the missing tree has not kept them away from your windows!

    • I’m still a bit uneasy about its absence on the life of the tribe, but yes, at least it hasn’t taken my house off their map!

      Just so thrilled with these shots – and seeing the but so clearly, and mother, sitting so large and proud!

    • I’m sure they can – I see lots of broken branches up in the trees, and the mess they make when there’s a crop of mangoes or ambarella almost ripe is incredible. But … they’re wild animals, and are shy of me, and this was their home for millennia before the city exploded its seams and took over the jungle, so I’m accepting of the occasional broken branch!

    • Kate Shrewsday calls them my soap opera – and indeed, it is a multi-generational drama of small daily occurrences that gets played out in the trees around my house. I’m enjoying them so much and lapping up their every visit, knowing my opportunities to do so are inexorably drawing to an end – just over four months.

      Was overjoyed to get such good pictures of the new bub – he’s so tiny, and a real show-stopper, with those eyes.

    • A chimp, really? What a fantasy! I have to admit, until now, I’ve always been a little ambivalent about primates – except once, watching the noisy antics of a tribe of gibbons high up in the trees at the Western Plains Zoo (one of those modern, cageless zoos, in Dubbo, Australia).

      Being in such close shooting range (which means if the shots are in focus, the camera catches things I often don’t see with my ageing eyes!) to these wild animals going about their daily business has been a revelation, Carol, and I find myself with no sympathy for the neighbours who’re using firecrackers to shoo them away from their ripening mango and banana harvests … 🙂

    • Sometimes when I get fed up with all the things that are wrong with the house I remember its greatest drawcard – my monkey visitors. I’m amazed at how much I’m enjoying sharing their visits with everyone through the blog.

Comments are closed.