Develop our vocabulary and become a humanitarian at the same time? Yes, it’s possible. Please go directly to Chris Donner’s site and read her excellent article about Free Rice – an initiative of the UN World Food Programme. I can guarantee you’ll have fun, learn new words – we could even start a competition – and feel a little virtuous all at the same time. In half an hour I donated about 1500 grains of rice – struggling at level 47 (out of 60). Lets see how far we can progress and see how much rice we can win for the UN’s rice programmes.

Chris Donner, Mystery Writer

I have just found the most extraordinary web site.  It’s been around for a few years, but I just discovered it through a blog on the New Hampshire Writers’ Network.  The blog is about how you use words and how to learn new ones.  It suggested playing word games to help improve your vocabulary, and included a link to Free Rice.  I’d never heard of this site.  The name intrigued me and, being a word junkie, I had to look it up.  Now I invite you to become as excited about this site as I am.

Free Rice in run by the United Nations World Food Programme.  The website has fun educational games that you can play.  For each correct answer, 10 grains of rice gets donated to the World Food Programme by corporations whose advertisements appear on the site.

The games start out easy but get increasingly more…

View original post 235 more words

20 thoughts on “

  1. I will put this on my humble bit of interspace–and hope they do not show my lack of vocabulary.

    What a great idea!! Even those of us on a tight budget can DO something–all of us can DO something, if we just would.

  2. Oh, does anything more fanciful exist for one who loves her words and causes?! Thank you for sharing this treasurable find, Mere! Heading over to take a look now. 🙂

    Happy Sunday to you!

      • LOL! Okay, Lady Meredith, I’m blaming you for our tardy arrival to church. Just teasin’. Sort of . . . I was hooked immediately, and my husband “literally” had to pull me away from the computer to go get ready; to which I remonstrated, “ONE MORE!” Luckily, the Lord’s providential Hand chose that moment to send a glitch to the site, preventing me from going any further. I believe I was forced to stop on level 25. I am thinking this will be a good way to start each morning before delving in to editing. Thanks again for sharing that little gem. I love the idea of donating rice to the indigent, and improving my IQ, all in the same activity. 🙂

        How are you today? Or, tonight, is it? This morning? I am so confused . . .

        • It was 5.57 am Monday, Cara, when you wrote! I was up, but determined to stay in bed, listening to the rain beating on the roof. Oh what a delicious feeling – to be warm and dry out of that marvellous rain:)
          I think it’s brilliant and agree, a fine 20-30 minutes of mental gymnastics and care for others of a morning will be a grand way to start a day! 25 eh? I’m not sure I’m going to manage that, but I’ll give it a try:)

          • That does sound delicious, Mere . . . When I read this comment, it was around 8:30 p.m. on Sunday, and I had hopes that I would wake to a Monday such as yours. Alas, it IS a bit chilly, but there is none of that marvelous rain you spoke of. Oh, well — you can’t have it all, can you? 😉

            Oh, pooh! I don’t believe it for one second. You’d out-word me any day!

            Happy Monday to you!

Comments are closed.