Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun

Like many of you, I seem to spend an inordinate amount of time and effort trying to eradicate the sun from my photographs – a bit like the devil, “get  thee behind me …”.   But – late one afternoon, in my second favourite place on earth, it was a temptation too much to resist, and I shot it.

I was with some other budding photographers in,  you guessed it – Venice.  We were returning home from my very first gondola ride  (something I’d actively resisted for almost forty years, silly, foolish, me) – and as we came abreast of our little Rio, the sun set the air and water asparkle.  It was one of those wow moments.  (I have  to download at the minimum resolution, so I hope we can see …)

or this one

What do you think?  Should I have taken the same risk with the sun when we came across this woman, scudding across the Grand Canal in the choppy waters up near the Rialto?

Blinded by the sun ...

49 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun | Wind Against Current

  2. These are pure wow. I was just struggling to upload a rather out of focus pic of my forefinger onto my I Saw Saturday post – you’ve re-vitalised me with the sun.

    • Sorry to hear you struggled this week thirdeemom. Oh yes, the water was dancing in the light, dazzling. And so was the air – I guess all that humidity, and pollution, added enough ‘matter’ to fill it with reflectors. Thanks for your support.

      • You’re welcome! I am a “new” photographer meaning I am finally actually trying to pay attention instead of just snapping away. Wish I would have thought about this earlier in all my travels! Oh well…better to start sometime! Nicole

  3. Wow is right! I can almost smell lthe water. I was there one very brief time. I was in a hurry to get back to my love….another story. These are beautiful photos, and sometimes it is so good to go against the photographic “rules”.

    • I hope you don’t make it a habit to curtail your activities to get back to your love, Angeline?:) In the case of Venice, that’s almost a crime, let me tell you! I’m glad you got the wow factor, and the smell (very briny, by the way). I have a little secret, I think it’s often good to break rules – especially creatively:)

    • I know where you’re coming from – I would never have given in and taken a gondola except that this last time I was on a photo workshop and somehow it seemed just the right thing to do – to see Venice from another perspective. It was marvellous to be down there at water level, as though that’s the way the city was designed to be seen. And, I have to admit, that sense of moving through the city the way others had for centuries was a mighty powerful sensation.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Sun « Mystiic

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « The Proscenium

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun… | Mirth and Motivation

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun | Stories of My Wandering Feet (& Mind)

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « Observations

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun | Children's Books & More

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « Missionary IOU 差 情 尋

Comments are closed.