Universal Love

The Laughing Housewife posted a passionate appeal for love and understanding the other day.  By way of  her re-blog, we saw how our beliefs can sometimes close our eyes, and our hearts to the extent that we can become immune to hurt we inflict on others, even the ones we love.

Like her, I was distressed by the story of “Jacob”, but was glad it was a story of redemption and tried not to dwell on it.  But thoughts, once arisen, have a habit of taking on a life of their own.  Negative, unhelpful thoughts that achieve nothing.

So this evening it’s love I turn to – the universal love of the Metta-sutta.

May all beings be happy and secure;  may their minds be contented.

Whatever living beings there may be – feeble or strong, long or tall, stout or medium, short, small, or large … – may all beings, without exception, be happy!

Let not one deceive another, nor despise any person whatsoever.  In anger or ill will let not one wish any harm to another.

Just as a mother would protect her only child even at the risk of her own life, even so let one cultivate a boundless heart towards all beings.

Let one’s thoughts of boundless love pervade the whole world … without any obstruction, without any hatred, without any enmity.

 

20 thoughts on “Universal Love

  1. Any religion which seeks to condemn, judge, and marginalize has sadly missed the entire point. Love. There is nothing greater than this.

    Beautiful words. Thank you for sharing them.

    Blessings,
    Cara

      • With a certain sadness, I must agree. In myself, all of these baser emotions rise up on a daily, if not hourly, basis. The trick, as you say, is not so much trick for me, but a two-part process wherein I forgive myself for being a sinful human-being, moving toward grace, followed by a prayer for power not my own, in which I can only hope to learn from my mistakes.

Comments are closed.