Quintessential Sri Lanka - the tea plucker, Kelburne

Out and About – The Things I See

Hop in, we’re taking a loaf!  I want to show you some of the things I see here on my enchanted isle.

This weekend’s ‘Everyday Life’ challenge has precipitated several themes I’ve been building for In Search of the Quintessential Sri Lanka.  When each theme is complete, I’ll post with more detail.  For now let the photos do the talking.

Notes:

Take a loaf – go on a jaunt
Handiya – junction
Hamuduruwo – Buddhist monk
Kade – corner store
 
44 thoughts on “Out and About – The Things I See

  1. Great post! Thanks so much for labeling the images. This was a nice and easy glimpse into your world, and I understand why it’s special. i’d love to know more about tea; someone asked if tea could be grown in ecuador, and most people flatly say, ‘no.’ it must be very temperamental about growing conditions! z

    • So glad you enjoyed a glimpse into everyday life here in Sri Lanka. You asked about tea:

      Tea plants grow best with even temperatures all year round, very wet summers and dry winters. It grows in temperatures ranging from 10 to 30 degrees Centigrade, in areas with an average yearly rainfall of 2,000 mm. and at elevations of between 600-2000 meters above sea level.

      Minimum temperature supported is around -5ºC, depending on variety.

      Tea needs an acid soil (pH 4.5-7) so should be only watered using soft water or rainwater, and always grown in lime-free conditions.

      Grow in light shade, and keep well watered during summer. Tea does not need a very fertile soil. Mulching with acidic compost can be beneficial (they use composted waste tea leaves here).

  2. LOVE this post! The image of the schoolgirls in front of the temple grabbed me. And the tea plucker brought back memories! Can you imagine, I have no pictures at all from nearly 8 years on a tea plantation and another 8 on a coffee processing plant!!
    By the way Kade is shop – any shop in Tamil and Kovil is Tamil for temple! Amazing how despite the onslaught of Tamil culture and language, the landscape and architecture is so reminiscent of the wet coast of India! Must be the Portuguese connection. Tamilnadu was never a Portuguese colony. I know I am rambling :-D

    • It’s insane, isn’t it! But of course I can imagine not taking any photographs of the sights that made up your every day – back then we took photographs of the exceptional scenes, the special occasions, of friends and family, not the every day. I’ll never forget the pasting my parents gave me when they saw I’d asked the Chemist to develop a whole role of horses heads – it’s taken 50 years to get over that sense of profligacy that experimentation represented! So, more subjects to add to your list, Madhu, next time you drive over to Mangalore :)

      I love our language comparisons. It’s interesting – Kovila is a Hindu temple, Pansala a Buddhist. So, I guess they just adopted the same word their Tamil neighbours used for their temples. The words for church (palliya) and mosque (muslim palliya) must have come from somewhere else too. Tamil? Would these north Indian adventurers have brought a word for shop with them when they came a couple of thousand years ago? What was it in Sanskrit, I wonder? There has certainly been an enormous amount of cultural cross over over the millennia – it’s part of the fascination of the place :)

    • Yes, the simple life still exists here, Ella, out in the countryside, though the extent of ‘western’, ‘modern’ influences is spreading faster and further than I’d have thought possible a decade or so ago – television, foreign employment, the end of the war.

    • I hope the picture on the jigsaw puzzle is becoming a bit clearer now Keira. Though I’ve seen a lot of change over the past 20 years, (so many cars on the city streets, face painting at birthdays, supermarkets and multi-channel TV just off the top of my head), the essential, everyday scenes remain unchanged, though perhaps not so universally so.

    • I don’t notice it so much now, but in the early days I was frequently struck by how beautiful the people – in general – were. Beautiful features, and carriage, temperament … I’m glad you both picked up on that.

  3. What a great overview of your world. Sri Lanka has always held a certain fascination for me and with your posts, especially this one, that fascination continues. Thank you.

  4. I love that these photos show the beauty of everyday life while still drawing in a potential traveler to the interesting facets of the people who live there! It does not look like it is always an easy life (I suppose that could be said anywhere in some respects), but these photos have sparked by interest in a corner of the world I admit to be woefully ignorant about. I look forward to learning more through your photos and posts (and adding Sri Lanka to the travel bucket list!) ~ Kat B.

    • Woowe – that’s fantastic Kat! Just what I was hoping for in putting the gallery together. You’re right, life is difficult for us all, in different ways, but in places like this the physical difficulties, and the lack of opportunity are the background constants to most people’s lives. I must say though, slowly – glacier slow – there are improvements. Hope to see more of you in paradise island. :)

    • Ummm – i find people fascinating, Denise. I like their stores, and I like to see how they deal with life – not always mad keen on what I see, but I’m always interested :)

      Glad you got a little taste of Sri Lanka off the tourist trail!

Comments are closed.