K is for Kandy - Version 2

K is for Kandy, for the Perahera

This is it from me till Thursday – Brahaspathinda, isn’t that the most gorgeously voluptuous word?

I’m off in the little sea plane, flying up to Kandy to watch the Perahera one last time.  I’m hoping, fingers crossed, I’ll at last get a few decent shots of one of the greatest processions on earth.  I’ll drive back, making a wobbly figure of eight across country up to Anuradhapura and Mihintale, and down through Kurunegala to Kegalla and on to Kithulgala before following the Kaleniya Ganga back home to Kolupitiya – no, no, I’m joking, I’m only coming as far as Battarmulla!

The akuru “K” is a wonderful shape, so I thought you might enjoy seeing it – K is for kakka, crow.   Kandy, just as the sun is going down, is the abode of crows, all cawing at the top of their lungs, as they fight over roosting spots in the trees around the lake.

My photograph is from the series “Sinhala Akuru” by Michael Myler, illustrated by Linda Gill.

Have a lovely week, guys, and stay safe.

 
44 thoughts on “K is for Kandy, for the Perahera

  1. You are right the akuru “K” is a wonderful shape. I am sure I have seen a tattoo of that on someone. Now I am off to look up that wonderful word “Brahaspathinda”.

    • Did you find anything about Brahaspathinda? Madhu said: “Thursday is Brahaspathivar in Hindi as well (and sanskrit I guess). And Kakka crow in most Indian languages But the letters are not easily identifiable, although they look similar to the Dravidian language scripts.”

        • Oh, sweetie, I’m sorry – I thought I’d made it clear – “This is it from me till Thursday – Brahaspathinda … “. Thursday – that’s all there was to find out about it, and now we know from Madhu that it’s almost the same in Hindi – I love that!

    • Never let me be so silly again! Just as there’s no way to undo the past, there’s no way to catch up on untaken photographs. I’ve gotta stop obsessing about filling the memory boxes and just let life flow as it has always done, and the memory boxes will fill with whatever comes along, and those memories will be special, as memories always are.

    • Almost exact, I’d say! It was interesting, they didn’t like all the noise, and smoke, and lights from the Perrahera – I don’t know where they slept for those ten days, but they were noticeable by their absence last week.

    • My dreams of at last capturing decent Perahera photographs were totally shattered, Shabna, but I learned a lesson more valuable than pretty pictures – why I used to travel without a camera at all. I got some other shots, different, telling different stories, but the big story for me from this trip will always be to experience things first – take shots if you can, later!

  2. Thursday is Brahaspathivar in Hindi as well (and sanskrit I guess). And Kakka crow in most Indian languages :-) But the letters are not easily identifiable, although they look similar to the Dravidian language scripts. I am off now to read all about the Perahera.

Comments are closed.